Post Code ?

W.A.B. On Air Activity/Contests

Post Code ?

Postby M5AED » Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:14 pm

Having returned to amateur radio after a gap of fifteen years I am now listening to the WAB nets. One thing has me rather puzzled. I have heard people call in to the nets unaware of their WAB square. A member will then ask for their postcode and use a computer program to calculate the WAB area. I thought that I had read warnings that these programs can be inaccurate and should not be used. Could anyone please clarify if there is a problem or not in using this method ?
M5AED
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:23 pm

Re: Post Code ?

Postby G7afm » Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:28 pm

You need to be careful using a postcode conversion or maidenhead locator as there is still the chance they are not accurate,i always use one that shows the location on google maps so as able to check the address as long as details on QRZ are correct
I also use pc based software by Garmin as you scroll over the map grid locator changes accordingly also does maidenhead locator
G7afm
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:35 am

Re: Post Code ?

Postby M5AED » Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:26 pm

G7AFM Thanks for that. Great pity that maps with grid squares are not available now. Years ago I would listen for the square given AND the location, town or village etc. I do wish more people would state the location and not just the square as we did in the past. Looking at the map would confirm details and improve knowledge of British geography. I do wonder if new / younger members have ever seen their location on a map with the squares and do not really relate to the square letters/numbers when they are told "the country is divided in to squares". Net controllers do a good job of explaining things but nothing beats hearing "G9AAA in Lower Muck village SP69" then seeing it on a map. Once again we are in the age of science and computers, but going backwards. Rant over !!!
M5AED
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:23 pm

Re: Post Code ?

Postby g4iar » Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:17 am

The Phillips Navigator series of maps are marked in grid squares. You do have to check the lettering and numbering at the edges and extrapolate across, although it's not that difficult.
g4iar
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:05 pm

Re: Post Code ?

Postby M5AED » Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:03 am

I have seen them and not very impressed with that system. I have a small scale map with squares and keep looking at the second hand shops for old large scale road maps. Will be seeing a friend today who may have something.
M5AED
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:23 pm

Re: Post Code ?

Postby daffyd » Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:44 pm

Mick, streetmap is also good for cross reference, you can zoom in, to see where the address / postcode is, and where the squares start / end.







DAVE
G0FVH.
daffyd
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Feb 25, 2014 6:38 am

Re: Post Code ?

Postby M5AED » Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:43 am

Daffyd. Thanks for that, will have a look at it.
M5AED
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:23 pm

Re: Post Code ?

Postby G7afm » Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:49 am

Hi Mick you may find this interesting it is a grid square overlay for google earth it is on Mikes G4GHT,s website under software he also has the kmz files for trig points and roc bunkers which also overlay on google earth.
http://www.g4ght.sky-net.org.uk/Files/K ... quares.kmz
the link automatically downloads
G7afm
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 11, 2013 8:35 am

Re: Post Code ?

Postby M5AED » Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:59 pm

G7AFM, thanks for your help. Have downloaded from the link but the file needs an app to open it. Why/how I need an app when using an Apple MacBook I have no idea, never liked computers !
M5AED
 
Posts: 22
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2015 10:23 pm

Re: Post Code ?

Postby g4iar » Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:40 pm

Daft question probably,but do you have Google Earth installed?
g4iar
 
Posts: 314
Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2013 12:05 pm

Next

Return to On Air Activity

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron