Page 1 of 2

Post Code ?

PostPosted: Sun Jan 31, 2016 6:14 pm
by M5AED
Having returned to amateur radio after a gap of fifteen years I am now listening to the WAB nets. One thing has me rather puzzled. I have heard people call in to the nets unaware of their WAB square. A member will then ask for their postcode and use a computer program to calculate the WAB area. I thought that I had read warnings that these programs can be inaccurate and should not be used. Could anyone please clarify if there is a problem or not in using this method ?

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 2:28 pm
by G7afm
You need to be careful using a postcode conversion or maidenhead locator as there is still the chance they are not accurate,i always use one that shows the location on google maps so as able to check the address as long as details on QRZ are correct
I also use pc based software by Garmin as you scroll over the map grid locator changes accordingly also does maidenhead locator

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Mon Feb 01, 2016 8:26 pm
by M5AED
G7AFM Thanks for that. Great pity that maps with grid squares are not available now. Years ago I would listen for the square given AND the location, town or village etc. I do wish more people would state the location and not just the square as we did in the past. Looking at the map would confirm details and improve knowledge of British geography. I do wonder if new / younger members have ever seen their location on a map with the squares and do not really relate to the square letters/numbers when they are told "the country is divided in to squares". Net controllers do a good job of explaining things but nothing beats hearing "G9AAA in Lower Muck village SP69" then seeing it on a map. Once again we are in the age of science and computers, but going backwards. Rant over !!!

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 9:17 am
by g4iar
The Phillips Navigator series of maps are marked in grid squares. You do have to check the lettering and numbering at the edges and extrapolate across, although it's not that difficult.

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 11:03 am
by M5AED
I have seen them and not very impressed with that system. I have a small scale map with squares and keep looking at the second hand shops for old large scale road maps. Will be seeing a friend today who may have something.

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 02, 2016 7:44 pm
by daffyd
Mick, streetmap is also good for cross reference, you can zoom in, to see where the address / postcode is, and where the squares start / end.







DAVE
G0FVH.

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Wed Feb 03, 2016 9:43 am
by M5AED
Daffyd. Thanks for that, will have a look at it.

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 8:49 am
by G7afm
Hi Mick you may find this interesting it is a grid square overlay for google earth it is on Mikes G4GHT,s website under software he also has the kmz files for trig points and roc bunkers which also overlay on google earth.
http://www.g4ght.sky-net.org.uk/Files/K ... quares.kmz
the link automatically downloads

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 4:59 pm
by M5AED
G7AFM, thanks for your help. Have downloaded from the link but the file needs an app to open it. Why/how I need an app when using an Apple MacBook I have no idea, never liked computers !

Re: Post Code ?

PostPosted: Tue Feb 09, 2016 9:40 pm
by g4iar
Daft question probably,but do you have Google Earth installed?